St. Vincent Anderson Hospital, part of Ascension Indiana, marked its 125th anniversary June 9. The hospital was founded in 1894 when John Hickey donated his property to the Sisters of the Holy Cross to become Anderson’s first hospital. The hospital was named St. John’s as a tribute to John the Evangelist, the Apostle of Charity.

Today, St. Vincent Anderson is a diversified ministry with 182 beds, a Level III Trauma Center, acute care, a mental health division, and an advanced cancer center, surgery pavilion, outpatient rehabilitation center, outpatient digestive health center, and outpatient women’s center research institute.

“Over the years, St. Vincent has evolved along with the community by expanding services to meet the needs of those we serve and opening access to leading-edge technology and healthcare programs through our statewide, clinically integrated system of care,” said Mike Schroyer, Administrator, St. Vincent Anderson Hospital.

St. Vincent hosted an anniversary reception on June 10 in the Hospital Café with cake and punch. It also held a 125th Anniversary Celebration on June 13 at the Anderson Country Club featuring country music star and Pendleton, Indiana, native Corey Cox. PGA Tour player John Mahaffey was on hand and Brian Hammons, formerly of the Golf Channel, served as master of ceremonies. The event raised money for the Classic for Kids Fund, which benefits St. Vincent Anderson programs for kids, such as the St. John's Children's Clinic, The Anderson Center Day School, St. Vincent Anderson Birthing Center and The Anderson Center Day School Equine Therapy program.

Photo 1: Mike Schroyer, Administrator, St. Vincent Anderson, keeps this historic record book in his office. It lists appointments and treatments from the hospital’s beginning and reminds him of St. Vincent Anderson’s heritage and growth.

Photo 2: Members of the Sisters of the Holy Cross enjoy the 125th birthday celebration at St. Vincent Anderson. Each of them received a rose from the hospital Administrator Mike Schroyer: from left, Sister Sarah Schmitt, Sister Karla McKinnie, Sister Michaeleen Frieders, Sister Eileen Flavin, Sister Kathleen Reilly and Sister Dolores Marie Rathnow.